Asking the impossible

Leisha, Karen and I had some good discussions in Ghana about what we were experiencing during our visit.  It was painfully obvious of the lifestyle we are accustomed to is worlds apart from the women in Bolgatanga who make the baskets.

While we stayed here,

they slept here.

It didn’t feel right for our differences to be in such close proximity to one another.

The hotel where we were staying is in the process of building a pool, which will be open next year.  The 40 degree heat made us wish that it was ready right now please.  On the other hand, we’d have to ignore some realities very close by in order to feel the freedom to enjoy it.

And yet, is the answer for us to sleep where they sleep?  Would it make sense for us to give up our homes, our jobs, our businesses in order to start farming the land or living in a mud hut?

Inevitably, after a visit to this reality, one brings a new perspective home as a souvenir.  I return to my home, look around and ask, why do I have all this stuff?  What do I really need?

I remember when it surprised me to discover that I was needier than a Ghanaian in a mud hut.  Modern day conveniences have incapacitated me, so that I rely on so much just to get through the day.  If we had a food shortage, I’d have no idea how to grow my own veggies or raise my own livestock.  If I didn’t have electricity, how would I do my work?  How would I Facebook?  If I didn’t have access to running water, how would I brush my teeth or shower or wash my clothes or…  If I didn’t have Google, how would I know anything?

There was a wicked thunderstorm one of the nights we were in Bolga. The next morning I saw our host use the water from a puddle that had accumulated in a plastic chair to wash his hands.  It came naturally to him.  I can honestly say I would never have thought of a puddle on my patio furniture as useful.

Perhaps that would change if I were forced to live in the situation.  But would I choose it?  Should I choose it?

In the passage of the rich man who asks Jesus what he must do to inherit eternal life, Jesus instructed him to sell all he had and give it to the poor.  I believe the passage is intended to challenge us all to release the things we hold onto tightly, the things we put in place of God, in order for God to be at the centre of our lives.  Jesus’ instructions were about what it takes to be perfect.  They were about generosity.

Jesus acknowledges that he’s asking the impossible of the rich man.  He always asks the impossible – to take the focus off ourselves and put it on God and others.  He knows that in our humanness, we can’t possibly do it.  But he also promises that with God it is possible!

A human response to poverty is to feel fearful or threatened by it.

A Godly response to poverty is to see our fellow humans with value beyond their circumstances, to minister to them and meet their needs.

A human response for the rich is to hold on tightly to our wealth and trust in it as security.

A Godly response for the rich is to be generous, understanding we’ve been entrusted with a blessing that was meant to be given.

I certainly don’t have the particulars of what this Godly challenge looks like for every individual. Lord knows I’ve struggled with the details for many years.

I do not believe it means the world living in mud huts, without electricity.  But it does mean letting go of the hold our wealth has on us (and in some cases that literally means selling what we have).   It means listening to the wisdom of Jesus and letting it resound above all other voices.  It means practicing true generosity, putting others above ourselves.  It means relying on God to see us through.

It means accepting the challenge of doing the impossible.

3 thoughts on “Asking the impossible

  1. My grandparents were missionairies in India and my dad grew up there until his early teens. My mom was telling me just the other day that when they had moved back to Toronto and she was dating my dad, she went to their house for dinner one night while an Indian man was visiting Canada to share with the church about the mission field in India. The church had flown him over. Well, my grandparents were considered “poor” in those days compared to other Canadians, particularly having to feed four teenage boys, but this Indian man started crying in the middle of the meal, saying, “You are so rich here!” But later on, when they went to the church, the man had brought no coat with him and it was chilly. A church goer wearing a nice coat did not hesitate to take it off and give it to this man, saying, “I have another at home, you keep this.” I love stories like that! :)

    Mission Trip to Zambia and South Africa: http://www.bekahferguson.com/content/view/20/31/

  2. When I was married I owned a 2800 sq ft home and I had it filled with stuff. When I moved out I took enough to fill a two bedroom apartment, and left my ex with enough stuff to do the same. This last time that I moved I was forced to get rid of about 60% of all that I owned in order to fit into this small apartment of 500 sq ft that I’m now in. I gave it all to charity. I’ve had so many people ask me how I could just get rid of my stuff. I’ve always thought that a worst case scenario is that I would just have to buy another one of something I gave away. In the year & a half since I moved in here, I can honestly say that I don’t miss any of the things I gave up… some of which I didn’t want to give up because I ‘need’ it. It bothers me that I had so many things. I’ve done so much thinking about my married home; how big it was and how much stuff I had. Why did I need it? I don’t know.

    • I hear you Carley. That’s so great that you were able to do that – and better yet never regret it! The other part is that it’s an ongoing thing. God is continually asking us to get rid of the things we hold so tightly.

Leave a Reply

