What to do with our failures

Part II of A Birthday Meal is on its way. Promise.  (Am I just in denial that I had a birthday?) But I want to do a short break out session on cooking failures.

Fact: I have cooked more inedible than edible meals.

I have felt the pain and disappointment too many times of scraping a plate full of food into the garbage and pouring myself a bowl of Cheerios instead.  My failures in the kitchen have almost incapacitated me.

In every other area of life, I would say that when I make mistakes big enough to be hashtagged #FAIL, I am always interested in the lesson behind it.  What can I gain from the experience?  How can I pick myself back up and carry on with new understanding?  I’m most often curious about what made me fail, and eager to alter my behaviour in order to try again and #SUCCEED.

Except when it comes to cooking.  When I fail, it makes me want to hide or cry or smash something (nothing valuable).

Having said that, I’ve learned the perfect cereal to milk ratio.

Perhaps the trick is to be light-hearted about it.  As I hope the following friends are when they find out I’m posting their cooking catastrophes for the world to see.


This is a waffle washout by Hillary H., newlywed.

Hillary does everything with style, even overloading a waffle-maker.

I was going to comfort her with my tales of newlywed dinner disasters… till I attended a potluck picnic where she managed to whip up no less than five non-failure dishes.

I applaud her for putting this into a photo montage, but we aren’t fooled. The girl can cook.

Lisa originally shared this with Friends Only on Facebook with this caption:

You know you are too easily distracted when….
You know your workspace is too far from the kitchen when…
You know you NEED to get your watch-with-alarm fixed when…
and finally….
You know you should now be officially permitted to give up cooking (like Loreli Cockram) when…..”

Except Lisa doesn’t want to give up cooking.  Lisa is even teaching me how to cook in less than a month.  Lisa simply had a Loreli moment.  Exploded eggs have that effect.

The last entry is a recent one from Brittany, a 16 year old ambitious sweetie.

Brittany forgot to add flour to her banana bread recipe.  You should have seen the lengthy comments thread when she posted this on FB.  Among them her response, which was not lost on me, “Only my first time trying, I will get better hopefully!

Brittany, hopefully you and I can both pick ourselves, dust off our flour-free aprons, and try again.

4 thoughts on “What to do with our failures

  1. I recently made tacos that were fire-hot spicy – *accidentally.* The kids were on the verge of tears. I poured them multiple glasses of milk, and then made them a second supper of leftover chicken. haha Felt awful about it. I am not the “chef” in this home. :)

  2. Pingback: Going Old-School, Heirloom Spaghetti Sauce « Based on a True Story

Leave a Reply

