Critical Update on Turtles

It would seem that my instructions for the turtles weren’t as easy as the 23 words would suggest.

Lisa posted this message on my Facebook wall that you should all be privy to:

** Critical Update on the Rolo Pretzel Turtles! We had used a no name Rolo from Walmart first time=yummy! (though some thought they looked like worms, with the ridges ;P). Legit Rolos only seem to come in Minis, unless i find a single strip pkg somewhere? Yesterday I made them with PC version of Rolos- no good! WELL- they were yummy! But the chocolate layer is thinner, so the Carmel goozed out everywhere :/

I’d attempted them on my own this weekend as well, with real Rolos, and had a similar problem: the chocolate cracked, instead of smooshed and the caramel spilled out.  I went to that dark place where I thought I was no good – why am I kidding myself thinking I can bake??  Lisa’s “spidey sense” kicked in and I received her critical update in time to realize it wasn’t just me.

The other critical danger is that when baking is still yummy, but not aesthetically pleasing, it becomes a PERSONAL SNACK.  The delight you feel when you realize SOMEONE has to eat these turtles, and that someone is you… is not worth the guilt and despair 10 turtles later. Trust me.

If I’ve learned anything from Lisa, it’s that baking is meant to be given.  Save yourselves a boat-load of turtle guilt and avoid the mistake of ugly baking!

I have a personal conviction not to shop at Wal-Mart, so I’ll have to look for a good Rolo substitute and PC has been eliminated.  I’ll keep you posted. If you have had any success with making these pretty enough to give away, let me know.

2 thoughts on “Critical Update on Turtles

  1. I think the legit real Rolos are worth another try- like you said to me: maybe try melting them just a wee bit longer? then they won’t crack? If I get them- I’ll just try making a few this time!

    P.S. they were simply gooey/sticky/messy, not ugly! come on- its caramel- not worm-guts! I still took some to Cup O’ Christmas :)

  2. No, Lisa and Loreli, don’t try another. Please do not try another. lol I’m beginning to worry about all the globs of chocolate going in the gargage can (or being eaten in misery), and the mounting cost. Tis the season to be jolly!

    “Looks like garden worms” has been taken to a whole new level with the leaky Rolos – “worm guts.” This is getting priceless. I don’t think I can take much more! hahaha Loreli, please, I beg of you: Let. It. Go. ;)

Leave a Reply

