New Year’s Resolution: Less is More

You might say my 2012 is ending with a fizzle as I sit alone medicating my flu symptoms and eating Cheez Whiz and crackers in front of the TV.  To make it worse, I missed the 1st birthday party of my niece.  Check out her party outfit.

Bridget's First Birthday 010

Now you’re sorry you missed her party too, aren’t you?

As I laze around on this last eve of 2012, I’m contemplating the value of making New Year’s Resolutions.  They aren’t known to be effective or lasting, despite our good intentions.

But there is something to new beginnings and recognizing that things should not stay the way they are. The new year is an opportunity, just like any other day, to make change.  Of course, it’s neat and tidy to organize things for a January 1st start.  (It’s also easy to remember how long it took for you to lose your resolve.)

To make true change, it involves not just recognizing that changes need to be made, but also that change requires sacrifice.  Something has to give.  For example, if I want to be more generous, I would have to change my spending habits,which means sacrificing the lifestyle I’m accustomed to in order to reach my goal.  It’s not enough to say I’ll give more; it’s also necessary to spend less.

More of one thing requires less of another. Of course, the sacrifice is a good one, but it is never an easy one.

In my sinus headache haze today, I made a More/Less list.  Got all fancy and put it into a two-column chart even.  Obviously, I would prefer the Less column would be eliminated completely, and to be graphic designer.

MORE

LESS

READING

SKIMMING

WRITING

MOPING

MOVING

BINGEING

SLEEPING

TV WATCHING

ENCOURAGING

BLAMING

GIVING

SPENDING

COMMUNICATING

FIGHTING

THANK YOU NOTES

EXCUSES

FORGIVENESS

GRUDGES

GOD

ME

So, at 12:00 a.m. with Advil-induced clarity and by the grace of God, I formally apply my 2013 Resolution: pursue what’s More, diminish what’s Less.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: Less is More

  1. I’m so sorry you are unwell, that can be a hard thing when family is all gathered together.

    As to the less is more, I’m there with you. I listened to an inspiring address given by a Harvard University professor today about the “New Economy” and less certainly is more. I’ve got her book, “Plenitude” on hold at the library and can’t wait to dig in. But, as is often the case, you got right to the crux of the problem; more of Him does mean less of ME. I’m ashamed to say, sometimes that is more than I am willing to give. An interesting year ahead! I can’t wait!

  2. The best New Year’s resolves I have yet to see…love the format…makes it seem doable. And I am truly sorry you are sick and missed the party but it was kind of you not to share. Besides look at how you blessed me (and others I’m sure).

Leave a Reply

