Nailed It.

Want to know how my first attempt to bake on my own went?

Upside Down Pineapple Cake - Nailed It

If I was, in fact, trying to make a giant pineapple sugar cracker. 

I got this recipe for an upside down pineapple cake from the Facebook Group, Operation: Recipe Swap.  I started the Group in order to expand this personal experiment into a community of recipe sharers and to exchange tried and true dishes with each other.  This is what people who bake and cook do, right?

I specifically requested this recipe, to prepare it for our women’s event that took place last night.  My friend Kim Furtney would be telling some of her story about living in New Zealand and this would be my attempt to culturally tie in our refreshments. New Zealanders eat pineapple!  These are the kinds of Very Important Details we plan at our women’s ministry meetings, dontchaknow.

This is the recipe I attempted courtesy of my lovely friend, Lynn, who is a brilliant baker.  This is her mom’s recipe. That means it’s TRIED and TRUE.

Upside Down Pineapple Cake

Topping:
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
can of sliced pineapple, drained

Batter:
3 beaten eggs
1 1/3 cup white sugar
maraschino cherries
3/4 cup water or fruit juice
2 tsp. vanilla
2 cup flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Melt butter and spread in a large baking pan. Sprinkle with brown sugar. Arrange pineapple slices over top and place cherries in the middle of the slices.
Beat eggs until light. Add sugar and beat well. Beat in juices and vanilla. Mix flour, baking powder and salt together and fold into egg mixture. Pour batter over pineapple. Bake at 350 degrees F. for about 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean of batter. Turn upside down immediately onto a plate and allow to rest 5 min. before removing pan.

*NOTE: This recipe has been amended since first posting, with double the measurements.

Here are my questions (from bolded words above) that I will be asking Lynn when she make an emergency jump ahead of the line of ORS instructors, in order to teach me how to do this right (on Tuesday):

  • What size is a “large baking pan?”
  • How important are cherries in a pineapple cake?
  • Is the 1/2 cup brown sugar the stuff that gets sprinkled into the pan or the sugar that gets mixed in with the egg?
  • What does “fold” mean?
  • How do you immediately heal a burned hand from a large baking pan?
  • What do you do when you offered to bake for an event and you realize five minutes before you leave that your pineapple upside down moist sugar cracker ain’t gonna cut it?

After posting the results of my first attempt on the Facebook Group wall, I was greatly encouraged by my friends, including Sharon Geniole, who can’t see anything wrong with it (love you, girl!), and this brilliant tip from Joy McEwen, a proficient baker and blogger:

I’ve had cake fails often (cakes not coming out of the pan, or coming out in multiple pieces!)…If it happens again, rip up the cake, layer it with pudding and whipped cream and fruit (although something like this would already have fruit in it)- and you have instant trifle. I’ve even ripped up the cake and put it in a ziploc and saved it in the freezer for a few weeks later:) This has saved me a few times!

I have yet to cook/bake fully on my own merits… but with support like that I feel like I’m part of the community of those who do. I’m in! Nailed it!


Just for perspective, here’s a cake Joy made.

Joy's Cake

5 thoughts on “Nailed It.

  1. Thanks for the kudos, Loreli. But honestly, I too have had my flop outs. One other thing I do is never try a new recipe for a crowd….I always test it on my family first;) Even with pineapple upside down cake, there was one time I took it out of the pan too soon and it kind of flattened and spread…it can be a tricky one to get just right as to when to take it out of the pan. In fact, I often leave it in for just a few minutes, or sometimes it does flatten.

    The other trick with baking is just getting to know your oven. Not all ovens are equal. Some run hot (electric usually) and some run cooler (usually gas). I know that mine usually runs a little cooler so I can leave stuff a little longer, but the more you bake the more you get a feel for it. Good effort…and keep at it! I can bake and cook but I have a sewing machine I’ve been staring at for two years because I have this block from seventh grade home ec, that anything I try to sew will be a disaster- so we all have things we need to push ourselves to try:) Maybe I’ll get that thing out one of these days. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. My cakes still end as flops from time to time (Although yours would be easily salvageable if put on a bigger platter- no one would notice the small seam where it cracked). Baking is truly science, and if you mess with it, it will mess with you! Keep at it!

  3. Pingback: Back to the Future with Pineapple Upside Down Cake | Based on a True Story

Leave a Reply

