First Successful Solo Bake

I stared at the recipe Christa put up on the Operation: Recipe Swap Facebook Page for banana muffins.  There were less than 10 ingredients and no words I couldn’t understand. Newly empowered with knowledge from Lynn – muffin batter should be lumpy – I could do this.

Banana Muffins

3 ripe bananas mashed
1 egg
3/4 cup white sugar
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 tsp salt
5 1/2 tbsp oil

Mix until moist. Pour into muffin pan. Bake at 350F for 25 mins. Makes 1 dozen.

Stuff 010

What you see is 12 perfectly baked banana muffins, minus one because I’ve learned that every good baker/cook tastes their dish before serving it.

Mom said she could tell they were good even before she bit in because their tops were crisp and chunky.  My kids and husband devoured them.  This all makes me very happy.

I’ve since made this recipe three times and have added “lots of bananas” to our grocery list. My recipe book and my confidence are slowly building.


RELATED TIPS:

  • Throw in a couple handfuls of chocolate chips and this recipe gets refiled under Desserts.
  • My friends suggested the following substitutes: butter for oil, apple sauce for oil, whole wheat flour. I cannot guarantee the success of the recipe with the substitutes, but for those of you who are adventurous, have at it (and report back).
  • Several people suggested freezing bananas, but then comes the icky part of removing the peel which, for the squeamish, can exercise your gag reflex. Best suggestions I heard were to cut off the top and squeeze it out like toothpaste or freeze it peeled.
  • Lynn once added chopped strawberries into the muffins and they seemed to be a hit. I trust Lynn that this would taste good, plus you see a lot of strawberry/banana combos (i.e. yogurt, drinks). I’ve been paying attention.
One thought on “First Successful Solo Bake

Leave a Reply

